J’aime Paris…

With fashion being regarded as one of my main passions, a trip to Paris was certainly at the very top of my ‘to do’ list. The thought of fabulous delicious pastries, abundance of shops both designer and high street, upmarket bistros, parisian boutiques and of course a trek up the infamous Eiffel tower was enough to make me take the plunge and plan a trip to the wonderful city.  Eiffel Tower

P1020361

Before even confirming my accommodation and arrival options I had outlined an itinerary for the whole entire trip. Hour by hour and day by day I outlined exactly what I and my travel companion would be doing. I didn’t want to even risk missing out on a vital monument or a shopping centre where I could have possibly seen the most perfect handbag or pair of patent court shoes.

The Champs Elysees stretch was by far my best time spent in Paris, the amount of shops and eateries was of abundance and a whole day walking down the entirety of the ‘road’ was most definitely needed. Luckily the day we chose to do the majority of our exploring was the only day of the holiday we were lucky enough to witness sunshine. This resulted in a fair few pit stops in a variety of the many bars and cafes. P1020426

P1020365

Now of course a trip to Paris would not be complete without a trip to Disney land. Although I am 20 years old, I will never be too old for roller coasters and all things Disney. Walking through the arch and into the park changes the atmosphere, you can ‘feel’ the magic and the sense of ‘anticipation’. I certainly am a big kid, I am not going to deny that. The whole setting of the park was fantastic, every waitress and park worker was dressed in fancy dress relating in some way or another to a disney movie. This added to the overall aura and really created a ‘magical’ and ‘dreamy’ ambience. P1020441

As an avid lover of anything cultural and exotic, I was particularly excited to try out the French cuisine. While browsing through a menu I saw snails as a starter option and seriously considered taking the plunge and giving them a whirl. After great consideration and a weighing up of the pros and cons I decided against the French starter and went for something I knew was going to taste nice. We did however try frogs legs and yes my friends, they do taste a lot like chicken. Not half as awful as I was expecting them to be. P1020414

Although the weather was a let down with rain falling the majority of the time, I had the most enchanting week in Paris. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. There is so much to see and explore, it’s unreal. Also, the metro was incredibly simple to use, which was a bonus as it’s the fastest way to get around the city allowing you to discover and witness everything that you intended.

Leave a comment